Faculty and Staff Directory

PROFESSORS

Dr Arvind AgarwalArvind Agarwal

Professor and Chair
AMERI Director
Room EC3474
agarwala@fiu.edu
(305) 348-1701
Research interests: carbon nanotube reinforced composites and coatings, plasma spray, surface engineering, nanomechanics and nanotribology, bioceramic coatings, nanomechanics of biological cells and spark plasma sintering.

Yiding Cao

Graduate Program Director
Professor
caoy@fiu.edu
(305) 348-2205
Research interests: Heat Transfer, Heat Pipes, Electronics Cooling, Gas Turbine Cooling, Fuel Cells, Internal Combustion Engines, Energy Recovery and Renewable Energy Systems, Heat Engines, Refrigerators, and Solar Energy.

Jiuhua Chen

Professor
chenj@fiu.edu
(305) 348-3140
Research interests: Materials Science and Engineering, Mineral Physics.

George DulikravichGeorge S. Dulikravich

Professor
Fellow, ASME, Fellow, AAAS & Fellow, RAeS
dulikrav@fiu.edu
(305) 348-7016
Research interests: computational, analytical, and highly multi-disciplinary spanning the fields of aerospace, mechanical, industrial, materials, biomedical and chemical engineering.

Ali Ebadian

Sabbatical Leave
Professor, Fellow, ASME
Ali.Ebadian@fiu.edu
(305)348-3696

FIU-mme-dr-cesar-levy-180x185Cesar Levy

Professor, Fellow, ASME
levyez@fiu.edu
Tel: (305) 348-3643

Norman D. H. Munroe

Professor
Director, Center for Diversity
munroen@fiu.edu
(305) 348-3556

ibrahim-tanselIbrahim Nur Tansel

Professor 
Fellow, ASME
tanseli@fiu.edu
Room # EC3474
(305) 348-3304

Chunlei (Peggy) Wang

Professor
wangc@fiu.edu
(305) 348-1217
Research interests: Micro and nanofabrication methods for building novel micro and nanostructures and synthesizing nanomaterials that have unique structures and useful properties for energy and biological applications.

ASSOCIATE PROFESSORS

charlie-linCheng-Xian (Charlie) Lin

Associate Professor
lincx@fiu.edu
(305) 348-0537
Research interests: Computational fluids and energy sciences, sustainable energy and thermal transport systems.

Sabri Tosunoglu

Associate Professor
tosun@fiu.edu
(305) 348-1091

ASSISTANT PROFESSORS

Benjamin Boesl

Assistant Professor
bboesl@fiu.edu
305 348-3028
Room # 3172
Research interests: solid mechanics, fracture mechanics, in situ mechanical testing, high strain rate/dynamic material response, and processing-structure-property relationships.

Zhe Cheng

Assistant Professor
zhcheng@fiu.edu
(305) 348-1973
Research interests: advanced ceramic electrode and electrolyte materials for solid-state electrochemical energy conversion including solid oxide fuel cells, advanced ceramic materials and processing for electronic applications including photovoltaics (solar cells), and continued development of advanced high-temperature in situ characterizations tools for materials research.

bilal-el-zahabBilal El-Zahab

Assistant Professor
belzahab@FIU.edu
305-348-3558
Research interests: Bendable, stretchable, and thin lithium-ion battery, ionic liquid based electrolyte for energy storage applications, carbon dioxide separation and capture, microfluidic separations for biomedical screening applications.

Pezhman Mardanpour

Assistant Professor
Pezhman.Mardanpour@FIU.edu
(305) 348-6103
Research interests: aeroelasticity (experimental and theoretical), design based on constructal theory, fluid-structure interaction, structural dynamics, thermodynamics.

INSTRUCTORS

carmen-schenckCarmen Schenck

Senior Instructor and Advisor
schenckc@fiu.edu
(305) 348-4183

Ju Sun

Senior Instructor
sunju@fiu.edu
(305) 348-2067

andres-tremanteAndres Tremante

Senior Instructor
tremante@fiu.edu
(305) 348-0149

wei-baoWei-Yu Bao

Instructor
baow@fiu.edu
(305) 348-6863

Carmen Muller-KargerFIU Carmen Muller-Karger

Instructor
cmullerk@fiu.edu
(305) 348-8429

EMERITUS

Gordon Hopkins

Dean Emeritus
hopkinsg@fiu.edu

W. Kinzy Jones

Emeritus Professor, Fellow, IMAPS
jones@fiu.edu

Surendra K. Saxena

Emeritus Professor
Director of CeSMEC
Saxenas@fiu.edu

ADVISORS

FIU Alyssa RamjohnAlyssa Ramjohn

Undergraduate Advisor
aramjohn@fiu.edu
(305) 348-4977

STAFF

mabel-fernandez-fiu-mme-180x185Mabel Fernandez

Mechanical and Materials Engineering Coordinator
mabferna@fiu.edu
Ph: 305-348-1541
Fax: 305-348-1932

mariam-barrueco-fiu-mme-180x185Mariam Barrueco

Mechanical and Materials Engineering Program Assistant
mbarruec@fiu.edu
Ph: 305-348-3608
Fax: 305-348-1932

Ana Torres

AMERI Office Manager
antorres@fiu.edu
Ph: (305) 348-2569
Fax: 305-348-1932

richard-zicarelliRichard Zicarelli

Coordinator
Engineering Manufacturing Center (EMC)
zicarell@fiu.edu
(305) 348-6557

Rodolfo Fernandez

MME Webmaster
rfern245@fiu.edu
(786) 603-6550

Jose Ortega

MME & AMERI Account Manager
jorte097@fiu.edu